(9th annual Philanthropy Day Awards)....It was held this week at the Old Eucalyptus Schoolhouse.

The event is hosted by the Imperial Valley Community Foundation. The Keynote Speaker this year was Roque Barros, Executive Director of the Imperial Valley Wellness Foundation. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Former County Sheriff Oren Fox. Don Shank was named the Philanthropist of the Year. The Volunteer of the Year was Sam Couchman. The Corporation of the Year award went to Farm Credit West. The Organization of Impact was Best S T E P Forward. The Award of Merit went to El Centro Catholic and El Centro Regional Medical Center. The Distinguished Philanthropists were Margaret Sauza, Glen Huber, Debbie and Roy Foster, Steve Ellison, Jessica Solorio and Victoria Homes. Several were named as Distinguished Volunteers.