(New law for smoke alarms)…It went into effect with the new fiscal year.
The new law requires any battery powered smoke or combination smoke and carbon monoxide alarm approved for sale by the Office of the California State Fire Marshall be powered by a sealed, 10-year battery. By June 20, 2015, all alarms on store shelves must be powered by the sealed 10-year battery. The traditional battery powered smoke alarms may start being replaced in stores by the new alarms, as early as next week. The state says a recent survey indicates that one in three California homes need to replace their smoke alarms, leaving millions of Californians at risk to suffer serious injury or even perish in a residential fire.